Skip to content
Haven & Plunge

Buying Guide · Wellness Equipment

Home Wellness Equipment Guide: What to Check

How to choose home wellness equipment: red light panels, PEMF mats, sauna blankets, and air purifiers, with prices, the evidence, and what FDA labels mean.

By Wellness Equipment
On this page
  1. What’s in the category
  2. Red light panels
  3. PEMF mats
  4. Sauna blankets
  5. Air purifiers
  6. Reading FDA labels
  7. Small devices
  8. How to shortlist
  9. Sources

“Wellness equipment” is a loose label. In our catalog it covers red light panels, a PEMF mat, a sauna blanket, an air purifier, and a few small devices. They don’t compete with each other.

Prices run from $94.99 to $1,699, and the evidence behind some of them is thin. This guide covers what to check in each type. Each section has its own deeper article.

Short answer: decide what problem you’re solving first. Then check three things on any device: the published specs, what the FDA wording means, and the warranty.

What’s in the category

Type Example Price (per listing) Warranty
Red light panel, compact Joovv Mini 3.0 $1,099 2 years
Red light panel, mid-size MitoPRO 1000+ $869 3 years
Red light panel, tall MitoPRO 1500+ $1,169 3 years
Red light panel, modular Joovv Solo 3.0 $1,699 2 years
PEMF and red light mat Hooga Red Light PEMF Mat $1,199 3 years
Sauna blanket HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket $699 1 year
Air purifier Coway Airmega 400 Not in our data Not stated
Hot and cold device Therabody RecoveryTherm Cube $159.99 1 year
Facial device TheraFace PRO $279.99 1 year
Eye massager Renpho Eyeris 3 $94.99 Not stated

Prices from manufacturer listings, checked September 2026.

Red light panels

Panels combine red light (around 630 to 660nm) and near-infrared (around 810 to 850nm).

Here’s what the spec sheet won’t tell you. Cleveland Clinic says “there’s not enough evidence to support most uses” of red light therapy. It adds that the therapy appears safe when used short-term and as directed, and that you should shield your eyes with at-home devices.

So compare panels on what you can measure:

  1. Size. The MitoPRO 1000+ is 12 x 24 inches. The 1500+ is 12 x 36.
  2. Published wavelengths and irradiance. Mito publishes both. Joovv doesn’t publish them for the Solo 3.0.
  3. Expandability. Joovv panels link into larger kits.
  4. Warranty. 2 years for Joovv, 3 for Mito.

PEMF mats

PEMF stands for pulsed electromagnetic field. The Hooga mat lists 6 coils and a 0.9 to 100 Hz range, plus red light and heat.

A 2024 review of 17 trials found PEMF had “potential” for osteoarthritis. It also found the devices and treatment lengths varied so much that more research is needed.

Sauna blankets

A blanket gives you infrared heat with no cabin. The HigherDOSE blanket is $699, heats up to 175°F, and plugs into a standard outlet.

Cleveland Clinic says infrared saunas operate at 110 to 135°F, and suggests starting at about 110°F for 5 to 10 minutes. Start low in a blanket too.

Air purifiers

Match the purifier to the room. The EPA’s chart works out to a CADR of about 65 for every 100 square feet, with an 8-foot ceiling.

The Coway Airmega 400 has a smoke CADR of 328. By the EPA chart that suits a room of about 500 square feet. Coway rates it for 1,560 square feet, at 2 air changes an hour. Both figures are honest. They measure different things.

The EPA also says to avoid air cleaners that intentionally produce ozone, and that CADR covers particles only.

Reading FDA labels

Three phrases get used as if they mean the same thing.

Phrase What the FDA says
FDA approved For the highest-risk (Class III) devices, after a premarket approval application
FDA cleared Class II devices, through 510(k): substantially equivalent to a device already sold
FDA registered Registration “does not denote approval”

The TheraFace PRO is listed as FDA cleared. The MitoPRO 1500+ is listed as Class II registered. Those aren’t the same claim.

Small devices

The RecoveryTherm Cube ($159.99) gives heat, cold, or both to one spot, with no ice. The Eyeris 3 ($94.99) is a heated eye massager with voice control. Buy these for a specific use, not as a substitute for a sauna or a plunge.

How to shortlist

  1. Name the problem: light, heat, air, or a sore spot.
  2. Read what a medical source says about the evidence.
  3. Compare published specs, and be wary where they’re missing.
  4. Check the FDA wording.
  5. Compare warranties.
  6. If you have a health condition, ask your doctor first.

For a full cabin, see the infrared sauna buying guide. For massage guns and compression boots, see the recovery equipment buying guide.

Bottom line: buy on specs and warranty, not on health claims. Where the evidence is thin, the cheaper device is the safer bet.

This article is general information, not medical advice.

Sources

  • Cleveland Clinic, “Red Light Therapy: Benefits, Side Effects & Uses,” last updated December 1, 2021: my.clevelandclinic.org
  • Cianni L. et al., “Current Evidence Using Pulsed Electromagnetic Fields in Osteoarthritis: A Systematic Review,” Journal of Clinical Medicine, March 28, 2024: pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  • Cleveland Clinic, “6 Possible Benefits of Infrared Saunas,” April 14, 2022: health.clevelandclinic.org
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, “Guide to Air Cleaners in the Home,” last updated October 1, 2026: epa.gov
  • U.S. Food and Drug Administration, consumer update on what “FDA approved” means, current as of May 4, 2026: fda.gov
  • Specs and prices: Joovv, Mito Red Light, Hooga, HigherDOSE, Coway, Therabody, and Renpho listings, checked September 2026

Not medical advice.This page is general product information. Heat and cold exposure aren't safe for everyone. Talk to a physician before starting a sauna or cold plunge routine, particularly if you are pregnant or have a heart, blood pressure, or circulation condition. See our Editorial Policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does red light therapy work?

Cleveland Clinic says there isn't enough evidence to support most uses, and that its full effectiveness has yet to be determined. It appears safe short-term when used as directed.

What does FDA cleared mean on a wellness device?

The FDA says moderate-risk Class II devices are generally marketed through 510(k) clearance, which means showing the device is substantially equivalent to one already on the market. It isn't the same as approval.

What size air purifier do I need?

The EPA's chart suggests a smoke CADR of about 65 for every 100 square feet, assuming an 8-foot ceiling. A 500-square-foot room needs about 325.