A rigid ice bath is a long-term purchase: it’s heavier, pricier, and harder to return than a soft tub. A few minutes of checking up front saves a lot of regret.
This checklist covers rigid tubs specifically. For the rest of the ice bath decisions, start with the ice bath buying guide.
Short answer: check fit, insulation, drain, filled weight, chiller compatibility, and warranty before you order. Rigid tubs reward planning.
The checklist
- Fit. Match the height rating to the tallest user. The Ice Barrel 300 and 400 fit users up to 6 ft; the 500 up to 6 ft 9 in.
- Capacity. More water holds cold longer but needs more ice. The Ice Barrel 300 holds about 77 gallons; the 500 about 94.
- Insulation. Look for a stated R-value. The Ice Barrel 500 lists R-16 foam in the barrel and lid.
- Drain. A bottom drain or valve makes water changes far easier than bailing.
- Filled weight. The Ice Barrel 400 is about 930 lbs filled. Check your deck or floor.
- Chiller upgrade path. If you might add a chiller later, confirm compatibility. Ice Barrel lists the 300 as compatible with ice or an add-on chiller, and the 500 has chiller-ready ports.
- Warranty. Rigid tubs often carry long ones: lifetime on the 400, limited lifetime on the 500 and 300.
- Placement. Shade, a level surface, and drainage for water changes.
What rigid tubs compare like
| Ice Barrel 300 | Ice Barrel 400 | Ice Barrel 500 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (per listing) | $1,149.99 | $1,149.99 | $1,749.99 |
| Fit | Up to 6 ft | Up to 6 ft | Up to 6 ft 9 in. |
| Capacity | about 77 gal | Not stated in our data | about 94 gal |
| Weight | Not stated in our data | 55 lbs empty, ~930 filled | 104 lbs empty |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime | Lifetime | Limited lifetime, material defects |
Here’s what the spec sheet won’t tell you: a rigid tub’s footprint may be fine but its height may not be. The 500 stands about 42 inches tall, so check doorways on the way in.
My rule of thumb: in a rigid tub, insulation and the drain are the two features you’ll appreciate every week.
Run the numbers on three rigid tubs
Ice per fill. Cooling a full tub from 60°F to 50°F takes roughly 40 lbs of ice in the 77-gallon Ice Barrel 300, about 48 lbs in the 94-gallon 500, and about 54 lbs in the 400. The 400’s volume is worked back from its listed weights: about 930 lbs filled less 55 lbs empty leaves about 875 lbs of water, or about 105 gallons.
Load. The 400 stands on a 31 x 31 inch base, about 6.7 sq ft. At about 930 lbs filled, that is roughly 139 lbs per sq ft before you get in. A rigid barrel is a concentrated load. Put it on a slab or the ground.
Rim height. The 300 is 30.5 inches tall and built to step into. The 400 is 42 inches and the 500 is 42.1. The 500 has steps molded in. For the 400, plan on a step: the Ice Barrel Step Stool is 16 inches high with a 300 lb capacity.
What the extra $600 buys
The 300 and 400 are the same price. The 500 costs $600 more. For that you get:
- A height rating of 6 ft 9 in. against 6 ft
- R-16 foam in the barrel and lid, the only published R-value of the three
- A built-in seat and steps
- Chiller-ready ports
If you are under 6 ft and happy to buy ice, the cheaper barrels do the job. If you are tall or expect to add a chiller, the 500 is the one built for it.
Two other rigid tubs
The Ice Barrels aren’t the only rigid options we list.
| Tub | Price | Capacity | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChillyGoat Matterhorn | $2,995 | 95 gal, seats 2 | 1 year, shell and fittings |
| Dundalk Polar | $3,444 | 190 gal | 5 years, parts only |
From manufacturer and dealer listings, checked September 2026.
Run the same eight checks on these. The Matterhorn weighs 259 lbs dry, so item 5 and the delivery path matter more. The Polar holds 190 gallons, so item 2 does: that much water needs about 98 lbs of ice for a 10°F drop.
For a rigid barrel next to two soft tubs, see our ice bath comparison. For water care between changes, see the cold plunge accessories buying guide.
Bottom line: a rigid tub lasts for years, so spend ten minutes on this list before it arrives.
Sources
- Ice Barrel 300, 400, and 500 listings (fit, capacity, insulation, weight, warranty, chiller compatibility), checked September–October 2026
- U.S. Geological Survey, “Water Density,” accessed October 2, 2026: usgs.gov
- ChillyGoat Matterhorn, Dundalk Polar Cold Plunge, and Ice Barrel Step Stool listings (price, capacity, weight, warranty), checked September 2026
- Physics LibreTexts, “Phase Change and Latent Heat” (334 kJ/kg), accessed October 2, 2026: libretexts.org

