Skip to content
Haven & Plunge

Comparison · 3 models

Best Ice Baths of 2026

Three no-chiller ice baths compared on price, build, and warranty: an insulated barrel with a lifetime warranty, a full-kit budget tub, and a winter inflatable.

By

We have not tested these products hands-on. This comparison is built from manufacturer specifications, published prices and warranty terms. Price buttons are affiliate links, and we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.Affiliate disclosure

At a glance

"Not stated" means the maker does not publish that figure. Warranty entries are what the listing said when checked; we don't have links to the warranty terms yet, so check the manufacturer's terms before you buy. Product photos are illustrative, not the exact models. Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Price buttons are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.Affiliate disclosure

ModelPriceCapacityInsulationPlacementWarrantyRatingCheck price
Ice BarrelIce Barrel 500Best Overall$1,750list priceChecked Oct 18, 20261 personR-16 rated polyurethane foam (barrel and lid)Not statedLimited lifetime coverage for material defectsNot shownCheck Price on Amazon
The Cold PodThe Cold Pod Insulated Ice Bath TubBest Value$120list priceChecked Sep 8, 20261 personNot statedIndoor or outdoorNot statedNot shownCheck Price on Amazon
BestwaySaluSpa Arctic Ice Cold Plunge Bath$150Checked Sep 11, 20261 personNot statedIndoor or outdoorNot statedNot shownCheck Current Price

The models, one by one

Labels such as Best Overall follow the criteria in our product selection methodology. The reason for each label is stated on the card.

Price buttons are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.Affiliate disclosure

Best Overall

Ice Barrel

Ice Barrel 500

Why: A rigid barrel with R-16 insulation in the body and lid, a fit for users up to 6'9", chiller-ready ports, and a limited lifetime warranty on material defects.

May suit: Taller users who don't fit comfortably in standard rigid tubs; Buyers who want a chiller-ready rigid tub with strong insulation specs

In its favor

  • Genuinely larger fit range (up to 6'9") than most rigid tubs in this category
  • R-16 insulation is a specific, published figure rather than a vague "insulated" claim

Against it

  • Tub-only — a chiller is a separate purchase for maintained temperature
  • At 104 lbs empty and much heavier filled, placement is effectively permanent once filled

$1,750 list price

Checked Oct 18, 2026

Check Price on Amazon

Best Value

The Cold Pod

The Cold Pod Insulated Ice Bath Tub

Why: The lowest price of the three, with a cover, legs, pump, and drain hose included.

May suit: Budget-conscious buyers testing cold exposure; Renters who need an easy-to-store, portable option

In its favor

  • Lowest price of the three tubs in our ice bath comparison
  • Full accessory kit included in the base price

Against it

  • Soft-sided PVC construction is less durable long-term than rigid rotomolded tubs
  • Narrow 30-day return window

$120 list price

Checked Sep 8, 2026

Check Price on Amazon

Bestway

SaluSpa Arctic Ice Cold Plunge Bath

Why: A Polar-Shield coating designed to resist freezing and cracking during outdoor winter use, which most inflatables aren't rated for.

May suit: Budget-conscious buyers testing cold exposure before a bigger purchase; Renters or anyone who needs a tub that stores away between sessions

In its favor

  • Priced far below rigid tubs like the Ice Barrel 400 in our ice bath comparison
  • Designed specifically for outdoor cold-weather use, unlike most inflatable pools

Against it

  • No chiller — manual ice fill only, same as any unpowered tub
  • Drop-stitch/inflatable construction is less durable long-term than a rigid rotomolded tub

$150

Checked Sep 11, 2026

Check Current Price

Short answer: the Ice Barrel 500 is the one to keep for years, thanks to its insulated rigid shell and lifetime warranty. The Cold Pod is the cheapest way to start, with everything in the box. The SaluSpa Arctic Ice is the pick if the tub will live outside through winter.

All three are manual tubs: no chiller, no electricity, ice and cold water only. If you want a tub that holds its own temperature, see the cold plunge comparison. For how to choose between ice bath types, start with the ice bath buying guide.

Side by side

Ice Barrel 500 The Cold Pod SaluSpa Arctic Ice
List price $1,749.99 $119.99 $149.97
Build Rigid recycled plastic, R-16 foam Soft, quadruple layer Drop-stitch inflatable
Capacity 94 gal 85 gal 111 gal
Size 30.7 × 57.6 × 42.1 in. Not stated in our data 60 × 36 × 28 in.
Empty weight 104 lbs Not stated in our data 27 lbs
Fits Up to 6 ft 9 in Not stated in our data Not stated in our data
Warranty Limited lifetime (material defects) 30-day return window Not stated in our data

From manufacturer and Amazon listings, checked September–October 2026.

Ice Barrel 500: Best Overall

A rigid barrel you sit in upright, on a built-in seat with steps to climb in. Ice Barrel rates the body and lid at R-16, a published insulation figure most tubs without a chiller don’t give. It fits users up to 6 ft 9 in, and the warranty is limited lifetime coverage for material defects.

You get a shell that won’t puncture or sag, insulation that slows melt between top-ups, and ports for a chiller later. You give up about $1,600 compared with the soft tubs.

Here’s what the spec sheet won’t tell you: at 104 lbs empty it moves easily, but filled it’s close to 890 lbs. Pick its spot before you fill it.

Ice Barrel’s site no longer lists the Ice Barrel 400, our previous pick. The Ice Barrel 300 is the lower-priced rigid option at $1,149.99, for users up to 6 ft.

Best for: people who already plunge regularly and want one tub for the long run.

The Cold Pod: Best Value

A soft-sided tub with four layers (PVC, pearl foam, and nylon) and a dual drain. The kit includes an insulated cover, legs, a pump, and a drain hose.

You get a complete setup for $119.99. You give up long-term durability, and the return window is 30 days. If you need more room, the Cold Pod XL holds 116 gallons for $159.99.

Best for: first-time buyers and renters testing the habit.

SaluSpa Arctic Ice: For Winter Outdoors

Bestway’s drop-stitch inflatable with a Polar-Shield coating meant to keep the liner from freezing and cracking outdoors. It holds 111 gallons and weighs 27 lbs empty.

You get a light tub that can stay outside in cold months. You give up the rigid feel and published insulation numbers.

Best for: people who want to leave the tub outside year-round without paying for a rigid one.

Which one to buy

  • Plunging for the long run: Ice Barrel 500.
  • Testing the habit on a budget: The Cold Pod.
  • Tub stays outside through winter: SaluSpa Arctic Ice.

My rule of thumb: start with a soft tub, and buy rigid once you’ve kept the habit for a couple of months.

Bottom line: all three hold ice water. You’re choosing between years of service, the lowest price, and winter readiness.

Sources

  • Ice Barrel 500 listing (price, build, capacity, dimensions, weight, fit, insulation, warranty), checked September–October 2026
  • The Cold Pod and Cold Pod XL listings (price, layers, capacity, included kit, return window), checked September 2026
  • Bestway SaluSpa Arctic Ice listing (price, capacity, dimensions, weight, Polar-Shield coating), checked September 2026

Not medical advice.This page is general product information. Heat and cold exposure aren't safe for everyone. Talk to a physician before starting a sauna or cold plunge routine, particularly if you are pregnant or have a heart, blood pressure, or circulation condition. See our Editorial Policy.

Still deciding what actually matters before you buy?

Our buying guide covers the electrical, warranty, and sizing details behind this comparison.

Read the Ice Bath Buying Guide: Tubs, Insulation, Size, and Ice