You can get red light in a dermatologist’s office, at a spa or gym, or from a mask or panel at home. The price gap is wide, and so is the gap in what you know about the dose.
This article sets out what medical sources say about each option. It sits under our overview of red light therapy benefits. It is general information, not medical advice.
Short answer: home devices are generally considered safe but may be weaker than office devices, so results may fall short, Cleveland Clinic says. Harvard Health’s reviewer adds that professional devices can better control the dose, and suggests FDA-cleared home devices. Cleveland Clinic urges caution with red light at spas, salons, tanning salons, and gyms, and suggests checking the provider’s qualifications.
How the options compare
| Factor | At home | Dermatologist’s office | Spa, salon, or gym |
|---|---|---|---|
| Strength | May be weaker (Cleveland Clinic, Harvard) | Higher, with dose control (Harvard) | Not stated in our sources |
| Supervision | None | Medical | Varies; check qualifications (Cleveland Clinic) |
| Schedule | Several times a week for 4 to 6 months (Harvard) | 1 to 3 times a week for weeks or months (Cleveland Clinic) | Not stated |
| Cost | Masks, caps, wands: several hundred dollars or more (Harvard) | Not stated in our sources | Not stated |
What the medical sources say
According to Cleveland Clinic, at-home devices are generally considered safe but may be less powerful than professional ones, so results may fall short. Its advice is to shield your eyes and follow all directions. It recommends seeing a dermatologist first to confirm the diagnosis.
Harvard Health’s reviewer, dermatologist Rachel Reynolds, MD, says over-the-counter products “may be weaker,” while professional versions “are likely to have the ability to better control the dose.” She suggests choosing home devices labeled “FDA-cleared.”
“It works on an impressive array of conditions.”
Rachel Reynolds, MD, in Harvard Health, 2025
Harvard’s article also calls red light “not a miracle fix for skin issues.”
Home panels in our catalog
Full-size panels cost more than the masks Harvard describes. The MitoPRO 1500+ lists at $1,169 and publishes its irradiance. The Joovv Solo 3.0 lists at $1,699; our data notes its exact wavelengths, irradiance, and dimensions aren’t on the maker’s product page. Prices are from our product data, updated September 12, 2026.
Limitations
None of our sources compares home and office devices head to head in a trial. Although the sources agree home devices are weaker, they don’t say by how much.
Here’s what the spec sheet won’t tell you. FDA clearance means a device was found substantially equivalent to one already on the market. It isn’t the same as FDA approval. FDA Cleared vs. Approved vs. Registered Devices explains the terms.
My rule of thumb: for a medical skin problem, start at a dermatologist’s office; buy a home device only for maintenance you’ll keep up for months.
Bottom line: office treatment gives a stronger, controlled dose with supervision; home devices are cheaper per session but likely weaker. Spas and gyms need checking. For what the research supports, see the red light therapy benefits overview linked above.
Sources
- Cleveland Clinic, “Red Light Therapy,” medically reviewed December 1, 2021: my.clevelandclinic.org
- Harvard Health Publishing, “Red light therapy for skin care,” October 21, 2025, reviewed by Rachel Reynolds, MD: health.harvard.edu
- MitoPRO 1500+ and Joovv Solo 3.0 listings, as recorded in our product data, updated September 12, 2026
