Skip to content
Haven & Plunge

Article · Recovery Equipment

Quietest Massage Gun: How to Read Decibel Ratings

How loud is a massage gun? How to read decibel ratings against a noise chart, which models publish one, and what else to compare: weight, battery, and heads.

Related guide

Recovery Equipment Guide: Rollers, Massage Guns, Boots

By Recovery Equipment
On this page
  1. Putting decibels in context
  2. Massage guns compared
  3. Using one safely
  4. Run the numbers on battery
  5. What the quiet one costs
  6. Ways to make any gun quieter
  7. Questions for a brand that doesn’t publish
  8. Weight is part of comfort too
  9. Sources

If you’ll use a massage gun while someone else is watching TV or sleeping, noise matters. The trouble is that most brands don’t publish a decibel rating, and those that do don’t always say how they measured it.

This article covers how to read noise ratings. For the rest of the recovery decisions, start with the recovery equipment buying guide.

Short answer: if quiet matters, buy a model that publishes a decibel rating, like the Hypervolt 3 Pro at 51 dB. Then compare weight, battery, and heads.

Putting decibels in context

Sound Level
Moderate rainfall 50 dB
Hypervolt 3 Pro (Hyperice listing) 51 dB
Normal conversation 60 dB

From the American Academy of Audiology noise chart (September 2023) and Hyperice’s listing.

Decibels are logarithmic: a 10 dB increase is a large jump in sound energy, not a small one.

Massage guns compared

Theragun Mini (3rd Gen) Hypervolt 3 Pro Theragun PRO (5th Gen)
Price $179.99 $349 $529.99
Noise Not stated in our data 51 dB Not stated in our data
Speed 1,750–2,400 PPM, 3 speeds 1,500–2,500 RPM, 6 speeds Not stated in our data
Weight 0.88 lbs 2.5 lbs 2.2 lbs
Battery 150 min Up to 4 hours 120 min
Heads 3 5, including heated 6

From Therabody and Hyperice listings, checked September 2026.

Here’s what the spec sheet won’t tell you: a decibel rating usually describes one speed at one distance. A gun pressed into a large muscle at top speed can sound different from the listing.

Using one safely

Cleveland Clinic advises starting at low intensity, staying on muscle rather than bone, and using the gun for no more than a couple of minutes on any one muscle group. It also notes massage guns haven’t been proven to improve speed, power, or endurance.

My rule of thumb: if noise is your main concern, choose a model with a published rating and use the lower speeds at home.

Run the numbers on battery

The comparison table gives battery life in minutes. In daily use it reads like this, at 10 minutes a day:

  • Theragun PRO, 120 min: about 12 days
  • Theragun Mini, 150 min: about 15 days
  • Hypervolt 3 Pro, up to 4 hours: about 24 days

The quietest gun with a published rating also runs longest between charges.

What the quiet one costs

The Hypervolt 3 Pro is $349. That is $169.01 more than the Theragun Mini and $180.99 less than the Theragun PRO. It is the only one of the three with a decibel figure in our data. If noise is the reason you’re reading this, that is the fact that matters, and it sits in the middle of the price range.

Ways to make any gun quieter

A published rating describes the gun. How you use it changes what you hear.

  1. Use a lower speed. The motor is quietest at its slowest setting.
  2. Use a soft head. A cushioned head, such as a dampener, makes less of a tapping sound on contact than a hard one.
  3. Don’t press hard. Leaning on the gun makes the motor work harder. Let the head rest on the muscle.
  4. Stay on muscle. A head that hits bone rattles, which is louder and is also what Cleveland Clinic says to avoid.

These are practical habits, not measured results.

Questions for a brand that doesn’t publish

  1. What is the noise level in decibels?
  2. At which speed was it measured?
  3. At what distance?

A brand that answers all three has given you something to compare with Hyperice’s 51 dB. One that answers “whisper quiet” hasn’t.

Weight is part of comfort too

A quiet gun you can’t hold comfortably won’t get used. The Theragun Mini weighs 0.88 lbs, the Theragun PRO 2.2 lbs, and the Hypervolt 3 Pro 2.5 lbs. The quiet one is also the heaviest of the three. For reaching your own shoulders and back, try to handle one before you buy.

To compare a massage gun with compression boots, see our recovery equipment comparison.

Bottom line: a published decibel rating is a useful signal. Without one, you’re guessing.

Sources

  • American Academy of Audiology, “Levels of Noise in Decibels (dB),” September 2023: audiology.org
  • Cleveland Clinic, article on massage guns and percussive therapy, February 14, 2023: health.clevelandclinic.org
  • Hyperice Hypervolt 3 Pro and Therabody Theragun Mini and PRO listings (noise, speed, weight, battery, heads, price), checked September 2026

Not medical advice.This page is general product information. Heat and cold exposure aren't safe for everyone. Talk to a physician before starting a sauna or cold plunge routine, particularly if you are pregnant or have a heart, blood pressure, or circulation condition. See our Editorial Policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

How loud is a massage gun?

Hyperice lists the Hypervolt 3 Pro at 51 dB. The American Academy of Audiology puts moderate rainfall at 50 dB and normal conversation at 60 dB. Many brands don't publish a rating.

Why don't all massage guns list a decibel rating?

There's no required test, so brands choose whether to publish one. When a number is given, check the speed it was measured at.

How long should I use a massage gun?

Cleveland Clinic advises no more than a couple of minutes on any one muscle group, staying on muscle rather than bone.

Ready to compare specific recovery equipment models?

See real specs, pricing, and warranty terms side by side.

See the Best Recovery Equipment of 2026