Inflatable hot tubs are the cheapest way to get heated, bubbling water at home. They’re also the easiest to misjudge, because the box looks a lot like a “real” spa.
This article covers what you get and what you don’t. For the rest of the hot tub decisions, start with the hot tub buying guide.
Short answer: an inflatable gets you warm water, air bubbles, and an easy setup for about $500. It doesn’t get you strong jets, cold-climate use, or long warranties.
Two examples
| Bestway SaluSpa Hot Springs AirJet | Coleman SaluSpa 4-Person | |
|---|---|---|
| Price (per listing) | $455 | $549.99 |
| Seats | 2–4 | Up to 4 |
| Water | 177 gal | 177 gal at 80% full |
| Jets | 120 air jets | 114 air jets |
| Max temperature | 104°F | 40–104°F range |
| Walls | 3-layer Tritech | TriTech 3-ply |
| Power | Not stated in our data | Standard 110/120V plug |
| Warranty | Not stated in our data | 1 year pump, 90 days liner |
From Bestway, Coleman, and dealer listings, checked September 2026.
What you get
You get a complete kit. Coleman includes the liner, cover, pump, chemical floater, two filter cartridges, and a repair patch. You get a standard plug, so there’s no electrician. And you can drain it, fold it, and take it with you.
What you give up
Massage. Air jets bubble; they don’t push water like the pumped jets in an acrylic spa.
Cold weather. Coleman says its SaluSpa 4-Person can’t be used below 40°F.
Lifespan. A 90-day liner warranty tells you how long the maker is willing to stand behind the wall.
Here’s what the spec sheet won’t tell you: an inflatable still weighs nearly a ton when full. Coleman lists 1,938 lbs filled, so it needs a level, solid base like any spa.
Who should buy one
My rule of thumb: buy an inflatable if you rent, live somewhere mild, or aren’t sure you’ll use a hot tub every week. If you’re sure, put the money toward a plug-and-play acrylic spa instead.
Run the numbers on weight
Both spas hold 177 gallons. Water weighs 8.34 lbs a gallon, so that is about 1,476 lbs of water in the Bestway. Coleman lists 1,938 lbs filled for its model.
The Coleman is 71 inches across. Treated as a circle, that is about 27.5 sq ft, so the load is about 70 lbs per sq ft before anyone gets in. Put either spa on a ground-level slab or patio. On a deck or balcony, have the structure checked first.
Run the numbers on heating
Raising 177 gallons from 60°F to 102°F takes about 18.2 kWh of heat. At the 2026 US average of 18.34 cents per kWh, the first heat-up costs about $3.34.
We can’t tell you how long it takes. Neither listing in our data gives the heater’s wattage. As a guide, a 1kW heater would need about 18 hours for that job, before heat lost to the air. Ask the seller for the heater size, and plan to fill it the day before you want to use it.
Keep the cover on while it heats and whenever you’re not in it. An inflatable has thin walls compared with a foam-filled acrylic spa, so the cover does much of the work. Bestway says its EnergySense insulation is up to 40% more efficient than typical inflatables. That is the maker’s claim.
What the $94.99 gap buys
The Coleman costs $94.99 more. In our data it publishes three things the Bestway listing doesn’t: the power requirement, the warranty, and the filled weight. That doesn’t mean the Bestway is worse. It means there is more to check before you buy it: the plug it needs, the warranty on pump and liner, and the lowest outdoor temperature it is rated for.
Setup checklist
- A level, solid base at ground height.
- A GFCI-protected outlet within reach of the cord, with no extension cord.
- A hose for filling and a place for the water to drain.
- Room around it to walk and to fold the cover.
- A plan for winter: Coleman says not to use its spa below 40°F.
To compare an inflatable with two acrylic spas, see our hot tub comparison.
Bottom line: an inflatable is a low-cost trial of hot tub ownership. Treat it as that, not a 10-year purchase.
Sources
- Bestway SaluSpa Hot Springs AirJet and Coleman SaluSpa 4-Person listings (price, capacity, jets, temperature, construction, power, warranty, included items, filled weight), checked September 2026
- U.S. Energy Information Administration, “British thermal units (Btu),” accessed October 5, 2026: eia.gov
- U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A (residential average 18.34¢/kWh, June 2026 data), accessed October 1, 2026
- U.S. Geological Survey, “Water Density” (a gallon of water weighs about 8.34 lbs), accessed October 2, 2026: usgs.gov
- Electrical Safety Foundation International, “Outdoor Electrical Safety Check” booklet (2021): esfi.org

