Hot tubs range from a $455 inflatable you set up in an afternoon to dealer-sold spas that need a concrete pad, an electrician, and a sales visit. The right one depends on four things: what kind of tub, what power you have, how much space and floor strength you have, and what you’re willing to pay to run it.
This guide covers those decisions in order, using manufacturer specs, public safety guidance, and basic physics. Each section has its own deeper article.
Short answer: pick the type first (inflatable, plug-and-play, or hardwired), then check power, weight, and running cost before you look at jets and lights.
The three kinds of hot tub
| Type | Example | Price (per listing) | Power | Lifespan cue |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inflatable | Bestway SaluSpa Hot Springs | $455 | Standard outlet | 90-day liner warranty on the Coleman SaluSpa |
| Plug-and-play acrylic | AquaRest Premium 300 | $3,199 | 120V/15A, convertible to 240V | Rigid shell, full-foam insulation |
| Hardwired / dealer | Jacuzzi J-335 | Dealer quote | Dedicated circuit, electrician | Dealer installation |
Inflatable tubs are cheap and portable. You give up durability and cold-weather use: Coleman says its SaluSpa 4-Person can’t be used below 40°F.
Plug-and-play spas have a rigid shell and run on a regular outlet. You give up heating speed.
Hardwired spas heat fastest and suit cold climates and heavy use. You give up the easy install; they need a dedicated circuit and an electrician.
Power: 120V, 240V, or both
On 120V, a spa heater draws far less power than on 240V. AquaRest lists the Premium 300’s heater at 1kW on 120V and 4kW on 240V.
Here’s what the spec sheet won’t tell you: that’s the difference between hours and most of a day. Using EIA’s definitions (1 Btu warms 1 lb of water by 1°F; 1kWh = 3,412 Btu), heating the Premium 300’s 160 gallons from 60°F to 102°F takes about 16.4kWh. That’s roughly 16 hours at 1kW, or about 4 hours at 4kW, before any heat loss.
Some spas can switch later. The Hot Spring Azure ships for 115V and converts to 230V; so do the AquaRest Premium 300 and 600.
Size, seats, and weight
| Spa | Seats | Water | Filled weight (per listing) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hot Spring Mini | 2 | 125 gal | 1,655 lbs |
| AquaRest Premium 300 | 2 | 160 gal | Not stated (232 lbs dry) |
| LifeSmart LS100DX | 4 | Not stated | 2,698 lbs |
| Hot Spring Azure | 4 | 235 gal | 3,020 lbs |
| AquaRest Premium 600 | 6 | 240 gal | Not stated (295 lbs dry) |
| Jacuzzi J-335 | 5–6 | 360 gal | Not stated |
Filled weights don’t include people. Water alone is about 8.34 lbs per gallon (USGS), so the J-335’s 360 gallons weigh about 3,000 lbs before the shell.
My rule of thumb: if you’re putting a hard-shell spa on a deck, have the deck checked before delivery day.
Fitting a small yard
Measure the footprint, then add room to walk around it and lift the cover. The Aqualife Current is 71 by 61 inches; the Hot Spring Mini is 6 ft by 4 ft 5 in. Also check the delivery path: gates, corners, and steps.
Running cost and insulation
Heating cost depends on insulation, the cover, your climate, and how hot you keep it. At the June 2026 U.S. residential average of 18.34¢/kWh (EIA), the 16.4kWh heat-up above costs about $3.
Look for full-foam insulation (listed on the AquaRest, Hot Spring, and LifeSmart spas) and a locking insulated cover. For inflatables, Bestway claims its EnergySense insulation is up to 40% more efficient than typical inflatables.
Entry tier vs. premium
Within one brand, the cheaper model usually trims features. The AquaRest Standard 400 ($2,799) has a 1-speed pump and thermal friction heating; the Premium line adds 2-speed pumps, ozone, and convertible heaters.
Water care and safety
- Temperature: the CDC says no higher than 104°F (40°C), and the CPSC gives the same limit.
- Sanitizer: the CDC lists at least 3 ppm chlorine or 4–8 ppm bromine, with pH 7.0–7.8. Test strips make this quick.
- Children: the CDC says children under 5 shouldn’t use hot tubs.
- Electrical: ESFI says hot tubs and outlets near them should be GFCI-protected.
How to shortlist
- Choose the type: inflatable, plug-and-play, or hardwired.
- Check your power: a free 120V outlet, or budget for a 240V circuit.
- Check the floor or pad against the filled weight.
- Measure the footprint, clearance, and delivery path.
- Compare insulation and cover, then jets and features.
To see three spas with published prices side by side, read our hot tub comparison. If you’re pairing heat with cold, the cold plunge buying guide covers the other half, and the home sauna buying guide covers dry heat.
Bottom line: the tub type and your power supply decide most of the experience. Get those right, and the rest is preference.
Sources
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, “What You Can Do to Stay Healthy in Hot Tubs,” updated May 20, 2025: cdc.gov
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, “CPSC Issues Warning for Pools, Spas, and Hot Tubs,” June 3, 1996: cpsc.gov
- Electrical Safety Foundation International, “Outdoor Electrical Safety Check” booklet (2021): esfi.org
- U.S. Energy Information Administration, “British thermal units (Btu),” accessed October 5, 2026: eia.gov
- U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A (residential average 18.34¢/kWh, June 2026 data), accessed October 1, 2026
- U.S. Geological Survey, “Water Density,” accessed October 2, 2026: usgs.gov
- Specs and prices: AquaRest, Hot Spring, LifeSmart, Aqualife, Bestway, Coleman, and Jacuzzi listings, checked September 2026
